Zero Emission Vehicle Transition Council meets for first time


Ministers and representatives from some of the world’s largest and most progressive car markets have come together to form a new Zero Emission Vehicle Transition Council.

Hosted by the COP26 President and Business Secretary Alok Sharma, the council met for the first time to discuss how to accelerate the pace of the global transition to zero emission vehicles. Collectively, the participants have agreed to address some of the key challenges in the transition to ZEVs, enabling the transition to be faster, cheaper, and easier for all.  

In a statement released following their first meetings, the council said that a rapid global transition to zero emission vehicles is vital to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement on climate change, and that together they would work to boost investment, bring down costs and increase the uptake of zero emission vehicles and the many economic, social and environmental benefits it brings.

Collaboration will be explored in aligning the future of the road transport sector with Paris Agreement goals, ensuring the transition to zero emission vehicles is truly global, leaving no country or region behind, and ensuring the enabling infrastructure is in place, including electric vehicle chargepoints and hydrogen vehicle re-fuelling.

The Zero Emission Vehicle Transition Council is made up of Ministers and representatives from the United Kingdom, California, Canada, Denmark, European Commission, France, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, South Korea and Sweden.